Governance

Current Council

The day-to-day affairs of the Association are conducted by the members of the Council, who come from various parts of New Zealand, and work within a variety of organisations dealing with population issues. Recent councils have comprised individuals working in central government departments, various departments within universities, area health boards, and local and regional councils.

Councillors are elected annually at the Annual General Meeting. Since PANZ members live in many parts of New Zealand, postal and electronic voting is used to elect the Council.

See our constitution here

The PANZ 2016/17 Council

President: Dr. Andrew Butcher

Manager, Research and Evaluation
Ministry of Justice
Andrew.Butcher@justice.govt.nz

Vice President: Associate Professor Tahu Kukutai

Associate Professor, National Institute of Demographic and Economic Analysis
University of Waikato
tahuk@waikato.ac.nz

Treasurer: Andrew Hancock

Statistical Analyst, Classifications and Standards
Statistics New Zealand
andrew.hancock@stats.govt.nz

Secretary: Shefali Pawar

Senior Research Officer, National Institute of Demographic and Economic Analysis,
University of Waikato
shefalip@waikato.ac.nz

Professor Natalie Jackson

School of People, Environment and Planning, Massey University
and
NJDemographics Ltd
Morrinsville, NZ
N.O.Jackson@massey.ac.nz
demographics@nataliejackson.net

Dr. Arvind Zodgekar

Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology (Now retired)
Victoria University
zodgekar@paradise.net.nz

Joel Watkins

Manager, Vital Statistics and Research
Statistics New Zealand
Email: joel.watkins@stats.govt.nz

Michael Berry

User Needs Consultant, Census Statistics
Statistics New Zealand
Email: michael.berry@stats.govt.nz

Dr. Alison Day

Research Officer, National Institute of Demographic and Economic Analysis
University of Waikato
Email: alisond@waikato.ac.nz

Dr. Rosemary Goodyear

Senior Analyst, Social and Population Statistics
Statistics New Zealand
Email: rosemary.goodyear@stats.govt.nz

Dr. Ward Friesen

Senior Lecturer, School of Environment
The University of Auckland
Email: w.friesen@auckland.ac.nz

Click here to download contact details for 2015/16 Council members in pdf.

2017 Annual General Meeting

43rd Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The 43rd PANZ Annual General meeting will be held on Monday 24 July at 5pm at Rydges Latimer, Christchurch, to coincide with the 2017 conference.

Minutes from previous AGMs

2016 Minutes here.

2015 Minutes here.

2014 Minutes here.

2013 Minutes here.

2012 Minutes here.

2011 Minutes here.

2010 Minutes here.

2009 Minutes here.

2008 Minutes here.